So…haven’t seen you around for awhile.

So the original plan was to do a whole bunch of analysis about our trip, stuff that went well, stuff we could’ve done better, that sort of thing.  We haven’t really gotten around to that, and I don’t think it’s gonna happen anytime soon, so I thought I’d swing in and provide my closing thoughts for this trip and let you folks know that we’re doing good in New Orleans.

The plan with living on the boat didn’t work out so well (long story short, we broke the boat), but Phil and I managed to pull through and grab a pretty nice apartment in New Orleans in the Garden District uptown.  Our EMT class is going great, we’ve both done our practice rides and now we’re just studying for our exams which will be in January sometime.  We also managed to get jobs pretty easily.  Phil is working most nights as a security guard and I’m working as a valet at the Roosevelt Hotel.

Looking back on things, the whole Mississippi trip feels like a dream.  It’s hard to imagine that we actually did it, we actually paddled from northern Wisconsin no New Orleans.  Every single mile of that extraordinary 1,905 mile trip was a new adventure, with new problems to be solved and new friends to be made.  This trip, and everything about it, will be cherished in my mind for the rest of my life.

Of course, the most enjoyable part of the trip was the people we met and the lives we observed while traveling.  We couldn’t possible thank all of you that we met coming down individually, but know that each and every one of you played a huge part in our lives, even if we only knew you for a short time.

For anyone who is interested, I’m writing the trip down, day by day.  If anyone is interested in receiving a copy of the story of the trip when everything is all said and done, feel free to shoot me a message at my email (richard@haven2.com) or just leave a comment on the website and I’ll get back to you.  The whole project should be done in a month or so, maybe…hopefully…eventually.

And so that’s it.  Done now.  The whole trip.  I’ve enjoyed working on this site since I started it up in February, and I’m so glad you’ve all enjoyed reading it.  I’ll check back periodically in the future, so you can always get a hold of me or Phil by dropping us a line here.

Thanks everyone!  Good luck!

Oh, and if anyone wants to know what if feels like to complete a trip like this, it feels a little something like this…

One Response to “So…haven’t seen you around for awhile.”

  1. Glad to hear you are doing well, have thought about you two many times – mostly when I see that marshmellow goo and ritz sitting in my cabinet ot the little cannon on my desk.

    It was indeed a fine trip for each of us, the kayakers I met are planning a Missouri River beginning this next summer, and Carl (whom traveled with me to Memphis) is planning a repeat with a brother 2011. I could value a repeat too, but I’m ok with it all – had an especially memorable time from Memphis south, traveling alone, and dealing with the heat – many times I had on less than a speedo (I know it may be tmi), but it was the appitimy of freedom and funny as the dickens as I think back about it (I’m not a nut, weired, a fag, or anything), but it was damn hot and kept me smilin – (what was in my dry-bag helped the smile too) plus there was absolutely no-one around to notice. I don’t bring this up for any other reason than its colder than dammit here in the mountains (Asheville) right now, and along with checking my site – it was on on the top of my mind…. 🙂

    I am away from work now (just the opposite from you guys), and will travel some this coming year with the kayak, just may stop and check up on you guys – and maybe have that celebration that I missed.

    take care

Leave a Reply

